Scoop (Soho, London)

Scoop is a chain of 3 "gelato parlours" (that's icecream shop to you or I) in Covent Garden, South Kensington and Soho. Having been to the Covent Garden branch previously I was tempted in through the door of Soho on the promise of vegan churros.

I ended up going a few times last year - a short walk from wfm / Picadilly tube it's convenient for grabbing something cool in hot weather (which does happen occasionally in London). It's also an alternative dessert destination after visiting somewhere like Beatroot around the corner that doesn't really do pudding.

As is often the case at such places it's the sorbets that are vegan rather than icecream. It is good quality sorbet though, so you won't feel too hard done by. Cross contamination's a definite possibility so it's worth staying vigilant whilst they're serving your order - I've heard from other vegans that they've messed up in the past.

Their churros are good, but like most places I was told the chocolate sauce isn't vegan. Thus I've opted for chocolate sorbet instead when I've had them:

I like Scoop. It's one of Soho's better places. Vegan icecream, toppings and better separation would be very much welcomed in the future, unless someone opens the London branch of Lula's Sweet Apothecary here in the meantime!

4 comments:

  1. I like Scoop too, I've never tried the churros though and I like the idea of having them with gelato!

  1. Anonymous said...:

    It has been confirmed that the chocolate sauce is definitely vegan. When I had the churros at South Ken they weren't properly cooked. They remade them but I have to say I still wasn't very impressed.

  1. Mits said...:

    Had this exact combo today, I wasn't that keen on the churros but oh my that chocolate sorbet us good. Incidentally the girl I asked about the chocolate sauce said it was made with milk.

  1. Steven said...:

    Which makes complete sense - other places I've had churros from before have said that they add a splash of milk to the melted chocolate to make it into a sauce.

    I think it was confirmed that the chocolate itself is vegan, but possibly not that members of staff don't add milk to it?

Post a Comment